yarn along ~ october 30

20131029-195547.jpg

Yarning Along with Ginny this week …

on the needles: Still working on a Christmas scarf for Spud. Today he ‘casually’ mentioned that he would like a stocking cap for Christmas. Tonight he told Cowboy that that’s what he thinks I’m working on. Guess it won’t be much of a surprise, but it will be appreciated!

off the bookshelf: I’m reading the latest edition of The Read-aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease. I picked up an earlier edition a few years ago, but never really got into it. This time around is a different story; I really appreciate his common sense approach to the value of reading aloud. He backs everything up with research in a way that’s accessible and easy to understand. Spud and I continue our Little House marathon (he will not hear of reading some other sort of book). I think it’s been going on for over a year now. We just slogged through another go-round of the The Long Winter, and now we’re on to happier times in Little Town on the Prairie.

What are you knitting and reading this week?

5 thoughts on “yarn along ~ october 30

    1. I think it’s some of both. Originally, I think I was hoping to find some marvelous books in the lists that I had never heard of, and that didn’t really happen. This time around what he writes about in the main bulk of the book applies to a lot of what’s been on my mind lately: how kids learn, electronic vs. paper books, etc.

  1. It’s hard to keep Christmas knitting a secret! I’m making doll clothes for my daughters, and they haven’t noticed yet, but that’s mostly because I work on their gifts only at night!

Leave a Reply

