csa week 5

csa week 5

 

 

The blueberries slowed our CSA momentum a bit this week.  No food has been wasted, but I’m staring at three big bunches of kale like a deer at headlights.  As usual, the cucumbers and carrots are great for lunches and snacking, lettuce goes into salads and sandwiches, more beets are pickling, and the basil was pestoed.  We actually gave away some of our food this week–our bag had both purple and white cauliflower, as well as broccoli, and the cauliflower and broccoli in our own garden was ready at the same time.  Cowboy, who is not a fan of the brassicas, helpfully volunteered to donate some of our wealth to his dad and brother, who are both big fans.  Choose your battles wisely, I say.

The recipe hit of the week (o.k., I’m the only one who liked it, but I really liked it) was Zucchini Fries.  I’ve tried a similar recipe with eggplant (also fantastic); for an easier technique, I think I’ll try the eggplant fries recipe with zucchini next time.

One thought on “csa week 5

  1. Thank you so much for the gifts of Blue Berries and Broccoli. They were great! Neither one lasted long at our home. If I was paid every time for sheering sheep with Blue Berries I might consider taking sheering sheep up for a profession…. ah, maybe not. As far as kale, I really like it when you heat a saute pan very hot with olive oil throw the kale in cook till tender then sprinkle with balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, and garlic powder saute just a few minutes longer take off heat, then eat.

Leave a Reply

