csa week 4

csa week 4

A nice variety of fruits and veggies arrived in our CSA basket last week: zucchini, artichokes, carrots, strawberries, broccoli, sugar snap peas, beets, fava beans, basil and lettuce.  I learned my lesson and immediately made pesto from the basil.

carrot zucchini latkesI also broke out of a zucchini rut and made carrot-zucchini latkes and zucchini tots.  The latkes didn’t have much flavor,   but the tots were fantastic–they even smelled like tater tots, just like the recipe said they would.  I don’t have a mini muffin tin as called for in the recipe, so I just placed the balls on a cookie sheet; the egg oozed out and cooked around the base of each tot; it didn’t look too appealing, but they tasted great.  I will definitely try these again, perhaps with a different binding agent.

pickled beetsCowboy loves beets, so I tried pickling some.  I did my own variation of two recipes (here and here).  I added some garlic cloves, and opted to boil the beets first, then peel them, which worked really well.  They got rave reviews, but got much stronger with time, so I’ve been asked to dial back the flavor on the next batch.

 

One thought on “csa week 4

Leave a Reply

