yarn along ~ hello, old friend

IMG_7577
Too much time has passed since I’ve joined Ginny’s Yarn Along.  Let’s get back in the saddle, shall we?

On the needles: We had a cold snap the last couple of weeks that reminded me that FB and Spud either don’t own or have outgrown suitable handwear (?).  So, mittens for both.  I’ve never knit or worn mittens, but it seems like they would be the easiest for the littles to put on by themselves.  Definitely easier than knitting gloves, too.  In the photo is my fourth cast-on of FB’s first mitten from Vintage Knits for Modern Babies, which I’ve been dying to knit a project from for literally years.  After two mistake-filled starts, I successfully reached the thumb on the third go-round, only to have my progress ruined by an Unknown Destroyer of Knitting.  (I suspect a little person.)  Thus, attempt 4 above.  (Shortly before naptime the smallest hands in the house grabbed my knitting needles and gleefully pulled my two rows apart.  Onward to cast-on number five!)
Off the bookshelf: Lots of fascinating and inspiring reading going on here . . . . I’m looking for some life/career direction in the pages of Quitter by Jon Acuff and 48 Days to the Work You Love by Dan Miller.  Both are encouraging, hopeful, and practical—highly recommended even though I’m only one-third of the way through both. 
Also, I scored The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook by Deb Perelman for a second go-round from the library.  There are more desserts included than I would ever want to make, but the main dishes, salads, and other recipes appeal to me enough that I’m considering buying this one.  She posted a recipe from the cookbook–Gnocchi in Tomato Broth–a couple of weeks ago.
Even with all this reading goodness going on, I saved my favorite for last (and forgot to include it in the photo).  Spud enjoyed our Christmas story read-aloud tradition so much, that he wanted longer storytimes before bed to continue after the holidays.  After some indecision we began reading the Little House series.  Because he is only 4 I was worried that some of the drama might be a little too intense for him.  We’ve skipped over a few parts that are too scary, but we are all thoroughly enjoying the experience.  We’ve sailed through Little House in the Big Woods and are approaching the end of Little House on the Prairie.  Spud is finding play inspiration in many of these stories; yesterday he told me that he wants his hair to “stand up just like Pa’s”.
What are you knitting and reading this week?
yarnalong_gsheller_gray

One thought on “yarn along ~ hello, old friend

  1. I saw that gnocchi in tomato broth recipe too! I've been really wanting to give it a try! I've been meaning to join up again with Yarn Along. Maybe this week!Hope you are all well!

Leave a Reply

