laundry on the line: a clothespin apron

Recently I had fun joining in the New Embroidery with Vintage Patterns flickr group’s Summer of Vintage Stitchy Love Contest[The grand prize winner was just announced here!]
IMG_6718
For budgetary and other reasons, I have sort of an unwritten rule that I don’t make things just for the sake of making them—I want them to be used and have a purpose.  So before starting to stitch my modified pattern entry, I made sure I had a plan for using the finished embroidery. 
IMG_6717
One of my favorite things about summer is hanging laundry out on the line, so I thought it would be fun to incorporate the pattern into a clothespin apron.  Before making the apron, I either had to bend over and retrieve clothespins from a basket on the ground or reach up and grab some from bag that hangs from the line, both options that don’t work very well when you have a baby strapped on, as I often do.
IMG_6850
I ran across this tutorial for a clothespin apron from The Seasoned Homemaker, and it all came together quickly.
IMG_6823
I followed most of the tutorial exactly.  One change I made was to construct the waistband out of one piece of fabric, rather than three.  I also cut double layers of fabric for both the pocket and the main body of the apron, as the cotton muslin I used seemed a little thin.
IMG_6853
Yellow isn’t usually my first choice when deciding on a color, but I really had fun using this floral thrift store bias tape from 1984 as the edging for the entire apron.
IMG_6852

IMG_6851
Now we just need some consistently sunny weather, and I’ll be ready to go!

One thought on “laundry on the line: a clothespin apron

Leave a Reply

