yarn along ~ july 4

Happy Yarn Along to all, and Happy Fourth of July to those of us in the States!
IMG_6616
On the needles—or rather, off!  I’ve finished FB’s Aviatrix, just in time for the official start of summer here in the Pacific Northwest.  It’s still a little on the large side, and I want to get it lined this week.  FB was too wiggly for me to get a good shot of him wearing it, so maybe that will happen next week too.
Off the bookshelf—I still have about three chapters left in How Eskimos Keep their Babies Warm, and thanks to this post on writing over at Wonderfarm, I also started reading Use Your Words by Kate Hopper
yarnalong_gsheller_gray

10 thoughts on “yarn along ~ july 4

  1. Oh this is just UBER-cute! Would you recommend this project for a novice knitter? I think this might be just the hat for my littles this coming winter! Thanks for sharing…

  2. This hat is on my To-Do-List for a while but I still didn´t start it. Maybe my 4-years-old is a little to big for it, too?The books you presented here are very interesting, just read the introduction of the Eskimo-book and it seems really refreshing, and books like `Use your words´ are always very useful.

  3. I've knit this hat several times now; it was one of the first things I knit after having only knit dishcloths on and off for several years. If you know how to knit and purl I don't think it will be too difficult. The directions are excellent. The only new skill you might not have encountered before is short rows; I had never done short rows before using this pattern and it wasn't very difficult. Give it a try!Here's the link to the pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/aviatrix-baby-hat

Leave a Reply

