an embarrassment of riches

For the next four weeks I’m going to be participating in Shannon’s Eating From the Pantry & Freezer Food Challenge.  My goal is to save $150 from my regular monthly food budget to put toward purchasing summer produce and vegetables for freezing and canning.
pantryandfreezer-1
Taking Inventory
After taking inventory of our pantry, cupboards, and freezers, I was dismayed to see how much food we actually have just sitting there waiting to be eaten—literally an embarrassment of riches.
IMG_6306
Some of the overabundance from which I can plan our family’s meals include:

  • Meat: Hamburger, venison roasts and steaks, one Costco bag of chicken tenders, canned tuna, and trout.
  • Grains: Oats, brown rice, buckwheat flour
  • Plenty of precooked, frozen beans: pintos, garbanzos, black beans, navy beans, and black-eyed peas
  • Fruit: a wealth of berries from last year’s picking expeditions—particularly raspberries and marionberries.  We also have many jars of applesauce left.
  • Other foods of note: honey, maple syrup, corn and flour tortillas, and sprouting seeds.
  • From the garden: During the second half of the challenge I’m hopeful that we’ll be able to use rhubarb, dill, cilantro, kale, Swiss chard, and perhaps even some lettuce.

The Plan ~ Week 1
After taking inventory I began sketching out a menu plan for the next four weeks with the help of some of my favorite cookbooks and my recipe binders.  I found the inventory list helped me to focus on finding recipes that used one or more of the foods we have available to us.
IMG_6305
During week 1 we will be aiming to eat the following meals:
Breakfasts: waffles (with berries of course), smoothies, granola, oatmeal, and hashbrowns
Lunches: chili, ramen, yogurt, fresh fruit, chips, granola bars, leftovers
Snacks: popcorn, jerky, fresh fruit
Dinner: Sunday: baked trout, salad, rice
            Monday: bread salad, pasta
            Tuesday: quesadillas, Spanish rice, corn
            Wednesday: baked potatoes, venison steak/roast, salad
            Thursday: leftovers, salad
            Friday: tortilla soup, cornbread
            Saturday: taco salad

3 thoughts on “an embarrassment of riches

  1. "Embarrassment of riches"….well said. I know exactly how you feel! I could not believe how much food was actually in my house where, normally, I would have gone to the grocery because there was "nothing to eat". Meal plan looks delicious~thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

