in the bag

IMG_4936
A six-month-plus project is finally finished!  After seeing Amanda’s description of the fabric gift bags she made, I knew I’d hit upon just the thing for the large stack of Christmas fabric I had sitting on my shelves.  Most of it came from Cowboy’s grandma, and some of it I picked up at Fabric Depot simply because I liked the prints.
IMG_4937
My dear mom got the project started by cutting all the fabric into bag sizes and serging the two sides and top edge.
IMG_4935
After *several* months, I picked the project back up, hemming the top edge and attaching the ribbons.  I had a large stash of 1/2”-wide ribbon that I’d picked up over several years at Michael’s post-Christmas sales.  Because of its thin width, I attached two ties towards the outside edges of the bags, rather than one large-width ribbon in the middle. 
IMG_4798
After running out of thin ribbon, I switched to wide, and about 2/3 of the way through my 35 (!) bags, I devised a way to attach the ribbon tie in one piece rather than two. 
IMG_4799
Fold the ribbon in half, with right sides together.
IMG_4811
Make sure center point (where you want to attach the ribbon) of the bag’s top edge is marked with a pin.
IMG_4812
Slide folded edge of ribbon behind pin about one inch below bag edge.
IMG_4813
Flip top piece of ribbon forward to front of bag (you should now see the “right” sides of the ribbon).
IMG_4814
Remove the pin marking the bag center and pin through top section of bag and all layers of ribbon.  Stitch as directed, keeping back layer of bag free.
IMG_4938
I’m looking forward to seeing these under the Christmas tree in a few months.  Now that I have Christmas gift bags out of the way, I’m considering bags for birthdays . . . perhaps a good way to use up some vintage sheets?!?

Leave a Reply

