yarn along ~ september 14

IMG_4673
On the needles: I’ve made a lot of headway on my Buttercup—I’m on the last set of body increases, but am thinking I will need to do a couple more sets to get the length I want.  The yarn I’ve been waiting for is finally on its way, so Buttercup will take a back seat once it arrives as I attempt to finish my mom’s birthday cardigan before early November!
Off the bookshelf: The change in seasons has me feeling nostalgic, so I’ve embarked on a quest to re-read many of my childhood favorites.  First up is Meet the Austins by Madeleine L’Engle.  L’Engle is best known for her science fiction/fantasy (A Wrinkle in Time won the Newbery Medal in 1963), but Meet the Austins is decidedly realistic fiction.  A quaint story about a family of four children, it’s just the kind of cozy read I enjoy.  The characters do confront the fair share of realistic problems throughout the course of the plot, and, of course, everything works out in the end.  Later books in the series take on the science fiction bent, and since that’s not my style, I haven’t read them, but this introduction to the Austin family is one of my all-time favorites. 

Leave a Reply

