around the garden ~ july 28

Inspired by Farmama, here’s what’s happening in our garden this week . . . .
It’s been a fairly discouraging week, gardening-wise around these parts.  After posting last week’s update, the kids and I drove over to the Garden Annex to do some weeding, only to discover that a cow had plowed through two ends of the fence, crushing one of the pea trellises and leaving gaping holes in the deer fencing.  After frittering away our weeding time patching the holes, we headed home.
The next morning I got an urgent call from Cowboy saying that deer had been spotted inside the garden fence.  By the time I reached the garden my dear mother-in-law had gotten the doe out and repaired the hole in the fence.  The photo below shows the three deer that were looking for a free salad bar.  Fortunately, we could not find where they had eaten anything other than grass.  Another close call.
001
All these wildlife antics called for major reinforcements, and on Sunday, Cowboy and Jr. put in a full day mowing down the grass around the garden’s perimeter, checking and securing fenceline, and tilling weeds between rows.  I spent several hours on my hands and knees weeding around the plants in each row.  The result: a secure, virtually weed-free garden, and a huge feeling of success and thankfulness:
IMG_4537
On Monday, the hits just kept coming.  Intending to give our 15 or so luscious tomato plants a good pruning, Spud and I headed back to the Annex.  As I worked, I spotted some yellow and brown leaves on a few plants, as well as a damaged tomato that started my stomach churning.  A quick check to Google Images on my phone from the middle of the garden (good grief, anyways!) gave me enough information to decide that we were/are dealing with blight.  I made the heart-wrenching decision to rip three plants out of the ground, hoping to save the others, and toted them home, where I shoved them into plastic garbage bags and set them out in the sun to fry.
IMG_4540
A quick check today didn’t reveal anymore damaged leaves, so hopefully I acted quickly enough.  I’ve noticed similar yellowing on my basil and a few potatoes are looking yellow as well, but I’ve had enough garden drama for this week.
IMG_4549
On the positive side we’re into a stretch of sunny days (finally).  Spud and I picked shelled several cups of peas,
IMG_4536
the first calendula blossomed,
IMG_4551
our garlic is just about ready to harvest,
IMG_4541
the peppers are loaded with blossoms,
IMG_4550
and how could I forget that fabulous cobbler made from our first ever rhubarb harvest?!
IMG_4533
Has your garden been overly dramatic this week, or is it smooth sailing?

Leave a Reply

