around the garden ~ july 21

Inspired by Farmama, here’s what’s happening in our garden this week . . .
IMG_4423
IMG_4425
Our first potatoes are coming on strong.  I spent a couple of hours in the rain, hilling them up.
IMG_4458
First scarlet runner bean blossom—I planted these mainly for their flowers, hoping to draw more pollinators to the garden.
IMG_4466
IMG_4472
Shelling peas are coming on strong.  I was also glad to see our first nasturtiums (finally!).
IMG_4489
IMG_4490
Carrots and green onions will probably all be finished by the end of this week; pulling them out to make room for some (dare I say it?) fall crops that need to be direct sown.
IMG_4479
Speaking of fall plantings, our first ever fall/winter seedlings are off to a robust start (lettuce, kohlrabi, bok choi, to name a few).
IMG_4482
This brings our homegrown blueberry harvest total (to date) to  . . .  three.  Hold your applause, please!
IMG_4483
I spy a tiny broccoli floret, and yes, another green caterpillar.  (And if you look really closely, eggs, too.)
IMG_4485
I also spy a calendula bud,
IMG_4491
IMG_4492
multiple zucchini,
IMG_4494
pepper blossoms,
IMG_4495
and our largest tomato (about 1.5 inches); I think she’s an Early Girl.
I’m choosing to ignore the fact that one month into summer, we’re just now having big harvests of our “spring” crops.  I’m thankful for the opportunity and ability to try my hand at growing food, and hoping that more good harvests are still to come.
What’s happening in your garden this week?

Leave a Reply

