trying something new: garlic scapes

Until I read Kerry’s post last year, I had never heard of a garlic scape.  I’d never even planted garlic until last fall, when I plunked some cloves into a raised bed, then spent the ensuing months trying to remember whether I’d planted hardneck or softneck, and which ones produced scapes?! (hardneck, by the way)
IMG_4352
The garlic plants (all 58 (!) of them) have been growing steadily along.  I’d decided that I must have planted softneck garlic, since no scapes were appearing, and wouldn’t you know it, the next morning they had seemingly appeared overnight.
IMG_4356
After reading somewhere that it’s best to harvest scapes in the hot afternoon sun (which allows the cut to heal more quickly and minimizes “weeping”), I headed to the garlic patch and cut away. 
IMG_4392
After getting past their snake-like appearance I chopped them up, stir-fried them, and we I enjoyed them over rice with a couple of shish-kabobs.  It’s always fun to try something new from the garden!
Incidentally, if you’re on the lookout for seasonal recipes, stop by Kerry and Sarah Jane’s collaboration: taste a little of the summer.

Leave a Reply

