good eats

For the last three months, and one remaining month to come, our lives have seemingly been dominated by one thing: baseball.  Meals, naps, groceries, chores, studies, everything in our little world is affected.  I’ve been struggling to map out a plan for meals that are quick to prepare, can be eaten on the run (or at the game) and, at the same time,  are healthy during this “season”.  Along with dinners that meet that criteria, I’ve been striving to provide faster, better breakfasts, lunches, and snacks that don’t require a lot of prep and can carry us through two or three days, so that I don’t feel like I’m slaving away in the kitchen every day.  Last week we had some successes, that I thought I’d share here.
IMG_4039After seeing Heather’s post and gorgeous photo of FIMBY’s Asian Noodle Salad, I just knew I had to give it a try (it’s been on my “to make” list for several months).  I subbed green pepper for red, and added some Chinese cabbage from the garden in place of the green onions.  The cilantro came from our garden as well (yay!), and I used Lola Nova’s baked tofu recipe again (but correctly this time!).  Just as delicious as I’d hoped.  The leftovers are still serving us well for lunches three days later, mainly because I’m the only one who really, truly likes it, but even Cowboy, who’s not a fan of the noodle, said it was “not too bad” and had seconds.  This is going in my regular rotation of recipes, but, perhaps in single me-sized portions.
IMG_4063
Quesadillas are one of our quick go-to meals for baseball game nights.  However, I wanted to add a little more to the meal, so I made up my second batch of The Pioneer Woman’s Mexican Rice.  I added more garlic, and olives the next day for leftovers, but this recipe did not disappoint.  A good go-to basic recipe for Mexican rice.
IMG_4061 I’ve been thinking a lot about making things for breakfast that have more protein and stick-to-your-ribs-ivity-ness, so this week we tried some yogurt topped with ground flaxseed, honey, and Maple Nut Granola (which I managed to overbake once again) from Food for the Whole Family.  The first day we added berries as well.  This is not exactly my ideal in regards to sugar content as a way to start the day, but it was a refreshing and delicious change from some of our regular breakfasts.
IMG_4040And, in the spirit of complete honesty, the popcorn above (were you to ask the three youngest members of the family) was probably the best thing I made all week.  The picture above shows what remained on Wednesday of a double batch I made on Monday for snacks to last the whole week.  Alrighty, then.
What is your favorite portable, quick, healthy meal for crazy dinnertimes?

Leave a Reply

