for the birthday girl

It’s hard to believe my niece is almost 1 year old!  Just yesterday we were celebrating her arrival, and now she is already saying her first words.  And what better excuse to make some cute little girl clothes than a first birthday?!
IMG_3493
With some creative pattern placement, a thrift store (I like to think it’s vintage, but I don’t really know) pillowcase became this little dress.  I used Simplicity 2668 for the dress and some accompanying bloomers.  Other than a little trouble with the yoke, the pattern was straightforward and easy to follow. 
IMG_3504
To keep the chill off, I knitted up a Rejoice Shrug using Full o’ Sheep on 10.5 needles.  Usually I’m not keen on chunkier knits, especially for little ones, but I’m happy with the finished product.  The pattern was well-written and came together very quickly.
IMG_3501Happy Birthday to my favorite (almost) 1 year old! 

One thought on “for the birthday girl

Leave a Reply

