moments in the garden ~ trellises

A few months ago I read an article about gardening for people who think they don’t have the time (maybe in Organic Gardening???).  As I recall, the article seemed especially geared towards busy parents, and one of the main ideas that stuck with me was the concept of gardening in moments—do a little here, a little there, and you can still have a successful, productive garden.  Not only did the idea resonate with me as a parent, but also as a resident of the rainy Pacific Northwest.  Last week I grabbed a big chunk of sunny moments, and attempted a new garden project: trellises for the snap peas and pole beans.
IMG_3347
We have several large brush piles around our property where Cowboy has cut back salmonberries and other underbrush; the piles also have lots of small alder branches left over from trees we’ve cut down. 
IMG_3345
I gathered a large stack of branches from these piles and began constructing some “teepees”.  Due to space restrictions, the teepees are made of 4 branches each, which I sunk about 4 inches into the ground.  After insuring the poles were firmly in the ground, I pulled them together at the top and secured them with some thrift store yarn.  All that was left to do after that was plant the seeds—the peas are just starting to poke through the soil.
IMG_3370
The next day, with weather again permitting, I dashed next door to our garden “annex” (Cowboy’s parents’ property) and put up three more.
IMG_3360
My trusty sidekick was more than willing to help me plant peas and beans for Granddad.
Do you garden in moments, or are you blessed with large chunks of time?  Do you make creative trellises for your vining/climbing plants?

Leave a Reply

