yarn along ~ april 27

IMG_3225
On the hook: I’m ready to begin the final set of stripes on the second Dorothea.  I will run out of the right color of red yarn on the first stripe and have to switch to a slightly different shade.  This will bug me, but I’m trying to keep some perspective.  It is just a dishtowel, and I’m trying to use up my de-stash before buying more new yarn.
Off the bookshelf: I finished The Dirty Life from last week.  I’m not a huge fan of memoirs, probably because I tend to like an escape when I read, but it’s healthier to read about the good, bad, and ugly of people’s lives—keeps me from being too idealistic, to see that everything endings don’t always tie up perfectly like they usually do in fiction.  That being said, this book did have a satisfying ending; much needed after reading about the couple’s first year struggle to start their own all-encompassing CSA farm.  The unending, back-breaking labor (all done with draft horses, no machinery (usually) allowed) was almost painful to read about, as was the strain it put on their relationship.  It was eye-opening to read about all the things that go into making a farm a success, and the heart and dedication it requires of the farmers.
This week, among other things, I’m enjoying The Pioneer Woman’s true-life love story: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels.  I do find myself wondering if everything happened just exactly as it is described in the book.  I’ve also been savoring seeing some of Nikki McClure’s artwork up close in her book, collect raindrops: the seasons gathered.  It’s a collection of artwork from all of her calendars organized by seasons, and includes some of her thoughts to introduce each section—a beautiful book.  And, I’m still working my way through 1,000 Gifts . . . .
To see what others are knitting/crocheting and reading this week, stop by Ginny’s Yarn Along!

Leave a Reply

