mid-winter pesto

Last month, with a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach, I dropped the final cubes of our frozen pesto into a pot of pasta.  Prior to last summer we’d never used pesto, let alone made or frozen it, but, it was enough of a hit with the family (in varying degrees) that I froze several batches before the summer ended. 

Without realizing it, over the fall and winter months, pesto became a monthly staple of our Monday pasta nights—a welcome alternative to tomato sauce, and much easier (and healthier) than white sauce.  So it was, as I used our final pesto reserves, that I longingly thought of the bunches of basil I’d forgotten to pick up from our neighborhood farm stand so I could make just one more batch of frozen pesto.

IMG_2417Then came a blessing of the sort that we’ve come to term a “God-wink” around these parts.  4-ounce boxes of basil almost past their sell-by date (organic, no less), marked down to $2/box at the grocery store.  (To add a little perspective, similar single stems of basil were going for $1 each).  Not sure of what I’d find buried in the box when I got it home, I only bought one ( 1?  again—now I’m kicking myself).

IMG_2414

Back at home, I found I’d struck gold (only two or three leaves had to be discarded).  Following a recipe similar to this one, I added two tomatoes teetering on the brink of the compost pail, 3 cloves of garlic, and other ingredients, and in a few moments had a double-batch of tomato-basil pesto.

IMG_2415

This translated into enough to fill a full ice cube tray.  Just 12 cubes of pesto-ey goodness. (Sorry, no pictures of the finished product.)  Not much, but enough to hold off the winter blues, at least on pasta nights. 

And, lesson learned (finally).  When in doubt, buy more basil.

Leave a Reply

