did someone say toys for Christmas?

We’re striving for a low-key holiday season around here; more emphasis on togetherness, less on stuff.  Then I look around and wonder why we’re even bothering with “toys” at all. 

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve seen a 9” board from the front porch become

IMG_1516

a balance beam (with appropriate adult supervision, of course!).

Add a cereal box for a tunnel and some toy cars

IMG_1546

and you have a super-exciting race ramp that holds the attention of even the oldest kids on an unexpected snow day.

Take two chairs and a blanket and you have a tent/fort/hideout (again, popular with all ages).

IMG_1554

I live in a world where a paintbrush or a keyboard cord frequently become microphones for singing the ABC’s.  Just this afternoon, with snow outside my door and the thermometer headed into the 20’s, I ate “corn on the cob” (wooden blocks) until I was so full it made the “chef” laugh.  I can’t wait to see what they come up with next!

I’m sure most of you have seen Kyrie’s list of “un-toys”, but I’ve been reacquainting myself with it again lately—inspiring and imaginative.

Leave a Reply

