crafty

IMG_1241

I took advantage of a few spare moments this weekend to make a leaf garland from newspaper.  The original idea is at Maya Made, and she has a lot of other super fun ideas for using newspaper; of course I’d like to try the acorn garland, too.  It took only a few moments to have brightly colored autumn leaves fluttering in the dining room (the pictures don’t do the colors justice, but I do wish I had applied a little more paint).

IMG_1245

I like the graphic quality the newsprint adds to whatever project you’re working on, plus it’s cheap and is a great way to give the paper a second life.  It reminds me of stories I’ve read from the Great Depression and years past where people made entire costumes (some quite elaborate) and decorations from newspapers.

IMG_1246

Just another crafty idea that proves that having “fun” doesn’t have to be expensive!

Leave a Reply

