I have traveled this road . . .

IMG_8789

more times than I can count.  I have traveled this road . . .

*as a soon-to-be college graduate on her way to interview for a teaching position at a school that would be her home for the next 11 years

*on my way home from my honeymoon to become “Insta-Mom” to two wonderful children.

*in the front seat of an ambulance, as my two-week-old son was cared for by consummate professionals behind me;  Cowboy trailing us in his truck, his headlights never leaving my sight.

I have traveled this road in rain, ice, and snow.

I have traveled this road . . .

*to the funeral of my first niece.  Carried to full-term, healthy, thriving in the womb, and then suddenly, in the space of 12 minutes (the time it took to perform an emergency C-section), inexplicably, devastatingly gone. 

Last night, I traveled this road to a different ending. 

IMG_8745I met my second niece, born 11 months after her sister.  A miracle, plain and simple.  Perfect, healthy—evidence of God’s faithfulness on this road that is never easy and yet full of blessings if we will open our eyes to them.

IMG_8803

I will continue to travel This Road, because the Mapmaker has drawn it with perfect detail just for me.  And at the end of This Road, someday soon, I will see my brother and sister-in-law, and my second niece reunited with their daughter and sister, and it will have been a Road well worth traveling.

“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’”—Matthew 25:21

Leave a Reply

