Treasure in the Frenzy

Being new to the whole “thrifting” thing, I read other thrifters’ tales of triumph and loss with relish.  Recently, I’ve read about some great finds (here and, today, here) and wondered, “When will I find a treasure like that?” 

I started thrifting because it’s economical and reduces waste, but I also am hooked on the thrill of the hunt.  Like many other thrifters I’ve read about, I keep a running list of items I’m on the lookout for, to keep me focused and on track, but I’m always on the lookout for vintage items like books and fabric.

And, finally, last Friday, after several months useful and needed thrifting purchases, I stumbled upon (quite literally) my first true thrifting Treasure.

Spud and I wandered into a local church rummage sale expecting to find a few dear souls selling the contents of their closets.  And while we did find that, we also found a roomful of frenzied customers rushing around filling empty boxes with their own precious finds.  Not being a crowd-type person, and having a small toddler in tow, I was hightailing it toward the nearest exit via the children’s toy/book table . . .IMG_6880

And there it was:  The Bookshelf for Boys & Girls—Americana Edition.  A 9-volume set compilation of children’s fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. 

 IMG_6881 Never seen it before, never heard of it, but the second I opened the first book I picked up, I joined in the frantic rampage and picked up the whole box, lock, stock, and barrel, and headed for the cashier.

I haven’t had a chance to research these books much yet, but they are full of literary goodness—probably in a cheesy, retro sort of way to some people, but that’s what I like. 

I’m hoping to share a little from each volume over the next week or so.  Here’s a sneak peek from Volume 1:

1

3Happy thrifting!

Leave a Reply

