B.M.O.B.

I was so excited when I read about Hip Mountain Mama’s One Small Change project.  What a great way for tons of people to collectively make a positive impact on the environment through small, individual choices.  So, I started cataloging the possibilities of what I should try first . . .

IMG_5582 We love our reusable water bottles.

IMG_5603 We wipe our messy faces with cloth napkins made from clearance fabric.

IMG_5590 We compost.

IMG_5588 Spud uses cloth diapers, and the list goes on . . .

Our family has made these and other changes over the course of the last year without much extra effort or thought—with one glaring exception: the reusable grocery bag.  For the life of me, I cannot remember to Bring My Own Bag into the grocery store.

We have bags . . . MANY of them . . . 

but 99% of the time, they either sit here:

IMG_5592

 

or here:IMG_5595 or in the trunk of the car.

Husband (who is not exactly into this whole environment thing) ALWAYS remembers to take our bags with us on our grocery trips to The Big City AND they actually make it into the store and get used. 

But if I’m the only adult going into the grocery store, the bags inadvertently stay in the car.  I think my memory disappeared when I got pregnant, and over a year later, it still hasn’t returned.  Just this evening I was so proud that I remembered to take bags to the store with me; then, after we returned home I realized I’d forgotten to actually take them into the store.   You get how it goes.

So, my first One Small Change challenge for myself is to CONSISTENTLY REMEMBER TO USE MY REUSABLE GROCERY BAGS AT THE GROCERY STORE.

Leave a Reply

